Meet Carl & Brook

A video message from Carl & Brook

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Carl & Brook

Thank you for taking the time to get to know us! We are a spontaneous, adventure-seeking couple with a deep love for good food, family fun, and worshiping our Lord, Jesus Christ. Our faith in God has led us on this path to adoption as first-time parents. We are excited to welcome your child of any race and gender into our family and look forward to creating a positive relationship with you at your comfort level. Our family and friends have been so very supportive since we started this journey and are so looking forward to welcoming your child into our family!

About Us

We were friends for 12 years before getting married! 8 years later, we are very in sync with one another, enjoy spending time together, love to travel, volunteer at church, and make memories with our friends and family. Each of us enjoys what we consider to be our dream jobs with flexible schedules that allow us to make the most of each afternoon, including family meals and date night while also looking forward to weekend plans. This gives us a healthy balance between work and home life!

We enjoy weekly date nights, s’mores around the campfire in our backyard, drive-in movies, and taking our dog, Sandy, for a walk through our neighborhood! We love to explore the outdoors by taking our kayaks down the road for a ride on the river, swimming, and spending time with family fishing, camping, and at the beach. We are excited to share these activities and more with our child.

What I love about Carl

Carl is truly the most genuine and caring guy I’ve ever met. He’s hospitable, hard-working, dedicated to his family, thoughtful, and considerate. He’s the kind of guy that holds the door for you, always uses “please” and “thank you”, helps around the house, and plans spontaneous weekend surprises just because. Carl enjoys his work at a local internet service and IT company that supports our local school systems and allows flexible schedules.

When we host gatherings at our house it brings him so much joy to serve others. Carl’s favorite place to serve is at church by either operating cameras or serving coffee. It gives him the opportunity to meet new people and spark a conversation. In his free time, Carl enjoys being outdoors including camping, kayaking, fishing, and going for walks. He is excited to share his love of nature with our child.

What I love about Brook

Brook is the most caring and honest person I know. She is dedicated to her faith and enjoys serving at our church. Brook works hard and puts pride in her job as a payroll specialist, a career she strived after for over ten years and loves doing every day! Cooking, music, reading, and traveling are just a few of her many passions. It brings me true joy to see her excitement when we visit new places or catch an unexpected giggle when she is deep into a good book. Brook has wonderful memories of learning how to cook with her grandmother and looks forward to sharing moments like that with our own child. She is often elected as the holiday host for our family and friends since she is honestly the best cook I know. This has also elected her as the family birthday cake chef!

Brook’s perseverance and ability to better herself has encouraged our family, friends, and even myself that anything is possible! Something I’m sure she will also teach our child.

Our Family

Our families both live nearby and could not be more excited to support our adoption! We are thankful to share many combined gatherings with both of our families together as well as small family traditions that we look forward to each year. Every memorial day, Carl’s family will come together for an outdoor picnic at a local state park. In the Christmas season, we enjoy spending the day with Carl’s dad to cut down our own Christmas tree! Brook’s family traditions include getting the whole family in on decorating the house for Christmas after enjoying our Thanksgiving meal together. Brook and her dad also have the tradition of visiting as many local fairs as possible! Both of our families alike feel that spending time together is a gift and try to get together as often as possible.

Our home in Ohio

Our home is located in beautiful Ohio in a quiet town near a lake. We love the activities it offers including local amusement parks, various islands on the lake, and of course all the water activities one’s heart could desire! We have a three-bedroom home with a fenced-in backyard, making it an ideal safe space for our child to play. Our home offers plenty of space to spread out, a guest bedroom for the family to visit, and a large bedroom for our child. We love the covered porch in the backyard which has a custom porch swing that was built by Carl. Our large kitchen provides ample space to host family gatherings and put together family meals. We share our home with our dog, Sandy, and our two cats, Monty and Mako.

Our Promise

We promise to love and raise your child in a safe, stable, Christ-centered home. We will take time to appreciate and celebrate the little moments and to always make time for family. We promise to make memories, share traditions, and have plenty of laughter together! We promise to listen, to be honest, and faithful, to be patient no matter what and never be too proud to say sorry when necessary. We promise to support and encourage your child in all future dreams and endeavors as they grow into adulthood. We look forward to sharing letters, pictures, and visits with you at your comfort level.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Carl & Brook

  Carl Brook
Our EducationBachelor DegreeHigh school graduate with some college
Our ProfessionsNetwork Specialist for an Information Technology Center for local schoolsPayroll Clerk for county auditor
Stay-At-HomeNoYes, Once the baby is home.
Our Racial BackgroundCaucasianMexican/Caucasian
Some of Carl & Brook's Favorites
FoodSushiPizza / All things potato
Place to travelFlorida / Anywhere tropicalState parks / Aquariums / Disney
HobbiesCamping / Fishing / Traveling / Photography / GardeningKayaking / Hiking / Cooking / Reading
Family TraditionFamily reunion every Memorial Day / Cutting down a live Christmas tree with family every year Yearly trips to Amish Country / Searching every local fair for the cheapest corn dog around!
Something I'd like to achieve in my lifetimeVisit Japan / Learn to scuba diveBecoming fluent in Spanish / Visit all 50 states
Place to serve at churchCamera OperatorInformation Center
More About Our Family
Why we chose adoption

Adoption has been on our hearts for many years even before we knew infertility would be a part of our lives. When Carl was eighteen years old, he was diagnosed with testicular cancer. After a year of chemo and undergoing two surgeries, Carl was healthy and cancer free, however unable to conceive children naturally from then on. Having been by his side during his recovery, I was well aware that we would not be able to have children naturally when we were married in 2013. This was no concern for us as we were both excited to begin our family through adoption. Although infertility has played a role in our decision to adopt, we would have chosen this path regardless.

Our Faith

We believe that God exists in three persons - the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit; having sent His Son to earth in order to die to pay for our sin penalty. Giving our lives to God has been the best decision and most important decision we've each made as an individual. We believe this beautiful world we all share is a gift from God and we do our best to keep that in mind as we begin each day. Despite the hustle and bustle of every day life, we strive to set aside time to give thanks to God, share His Word and enjoy the blessings He has already given us. As Christians, we hope to share the love of God with our child in a Christ-centered home.

How we met

We have known each other for over 20 years having originally met as neighbors in our small Ohio hometown. Since then, we have experiences so much together from neighbors, to high school sweethearts, to husband and wife. Our honeymoon was spent on a week long Caribbean cruise, our first vacation together and an experience we will never forget! Life has certainly thrown some twists at us including Carl's battle with cancer in 2006. This has taught us to appreciate our time together even more and make the most of each day. At the risk of sounding cliché, we are truly the best of friends who fell in love and consider it a huge blessing to share our lives with someone whose known you long enough to experience all of your flaws and still love you unconditionally.

Our daily routine

During the week, we are thankful to start each morning together before heading the same direction for work. We are thankful to share the same work schedule in the same town which allows us to enjoy our evenings and weekends together. Although we enjoy a good meal out, we often cook at home. Brook specializes in indoor cooking while Carl really shines on the grill. When its warm out, we often take our dog, Sandy for a walk after diner, usually to the local beach downtown. On our weekends, we enjoy spending time with family or going camping. Living near the lake opens so many options to spend time together as a family outdoors. We both enjoy what we consider to be our dream jobs with flexible schedules that provides a healthy balance between work and home life. This makes us all the more excited to bring a little one into our lives as we will have the ability to work and provide for our family as well as enjoy spending time together.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn to 3 months old!
We are excited to be a part of our child's life from the start! Much preparation has already gone into the nursery and many of our family members have contributed to it, including a crib from Brook's sister, a changing table from Brook's grandparents, and a dresser/mirror combo from Carl's parents.


We are excited for a baby of either gender and have no preference for this.
We understand that having the option to choose would not be a part of a normal pregnancy and feel that leaving the gender a mystery only adds to the excitement!

Race of child

We are happy to welcome a child of any race!
We celebrate and accept people of all skin tones and cultures. Brook's mother's family is of Mexican heritage, which we regularly recognize with passion and excitement.

In Closing

In closing we would like to thank you for taking the time to get to know us. We have looked forward to adoption for many years and are thankful for the opportunity to bring a child into our lives that we can love and raise as our own.

Call or Text us