Meet Romell & Shonita

A video message from Romell & Shonita

Call or Text us
Learn More

A Letter from Romell & Shonita

Hello, we are Romell and Shonita and we are very excited to be considered as your little one’s adoptive parents. We are an active-duty military family and have been married for 15 years. Being a military family has given us many opportunities to travel and experience different cultures. We look forward to sharing with your child our love of travel and culture, outdoor activities, as well as our unconditional love, respect, support, and curiosity to learn and have new experiences. We look forward to getting to know you and keeping in touch at your comfort level.


We met in Atlanta while Romell was on active duty in the military. We have been married for 15 years, have 3 adult children and 1 granddaughter.  We enjoy spending time together snowboarding, cycling, hanging with friends and family, movie nights, and eating out. Romell is a few years from retiring from the military and Shonita is a full-time student studying to be a paralegal. Romell’s career in the military has helped him build long-lasting relationships with people of different backgrounds and cultures. Shonita’s nurturing spirit comes from her extensive experience working with children as a daycare provider overseas and volunteering at our kid’s schools. We are a great team and are thrilled to now grow our family through adoption! We look forward to sharing our love of the outdoors, travel, teamwork, and learning with your child.


Shonita is a wonderful, caring, and loving person. She keeps our house together and is the planner and organizer between us. Shonita really enjoys working with children and loved being a daycare provider overseas.  She’s always had a passion for making learning fun for our kids when they were younger and is excited to share her love of learning with our next child.  She also enjoys arts and crafts, loves taking old furniture and making it look nice, and enjoys history and traveling to historical places.  One of her favorite outdoor activities is hiking. She really enjoys the quietness that nature provides and is working on her goal of climbing one of Colorado’s larger mountains. She is also a bit of a foodie.  We generally scour the internet looking for new restaurants and festivals to try.  She is looking forward to taking your child on hikes, traveling, reading to them, do arts and crafts, and more.


Romell is very outgoing and loves interacting with people. He is funny and spontaneous and is always on the go. He really enjoyed sharing his love of snowboarding, paintball, and sports with our kids. He coached their soccer and basketball teams when they were younger.  He is a great father to our children even though they are adults now and really enjoys family get together. Romell absolutely enjoys our time with our granddaughter. He has shown her how to snowboard and sled and she really looks forward to seeing him. Romell also enjoys Latin dance, (he’s pretty good), and grilling. He always looking for the next adventure. I know he will be a wonderful father to your little ones and will teach them to live life to the fullest.


Our family is very important to us. Shonita grew up surrounded by a ton of cousins and they are still very close to this day. Romell always enjoys hosting our families when he can. Although we move around a lot we have always been able to maintain our relationships with family which is important to us and our children. Our son is 24 and our two daughters are 23 and 18. We also have a 3-year-old granddaughter that we love spending time with. Our children are all so excited about our adoption and look forward to welcoming your child into our family.  Our youngest is looking forward to being a big sister.  Both of our extended families are super excited to love your child. Once Romell is retired, we will move back home to Georgia where your child will be able to grow up surrounded by our extended families and friends.


We live in a 2 bedroom apartment in Colorado surrounded by many state and national parks and trails- there is always something enjoyable to do here together.  Once Romell is retired, we will be returning home to Georgia where we own a 4 bedroom home. There are bike trails, schools, and several parks in the area. Our home is central to our family and friends and we usually host social events there for the family.


We promise to love your child unconditionally, to support and help them follow their dreams. We will teach them to respect themselves and provide them with opportunities to learn, explore the world around them, and live life to the fullest. We will share our love of the outdoors, travel, and exploring. Family is important to us and your child will be surrounded by extended family and friends who will celebrate their milestones and support them. We are looking forward to sharing all of this with you through pictures, letters, and visits at your comfort level.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

Learn More About Romell & Shonita

  Romell Shonita
Our EducationBachelors DegreeAssociates in progress
Our ProfessionsServicememberFull-time student and homemaker
Our Racial BackgroundAfrican AmericanAfrican American
Some of Romell & Shonita's Favorites
Favorite t.v showsMarvel shows and D.C. comicsKorean dramas and documentaries on culture and people
Favorite treatsChocolate chip cookiesHaribro gummy bears
Favorite vacation spotsThe mountains and ancient cities and villagesThe beach and ancient cities and villages
Favorite foodPizza and pizza and tacosKorean, American, Italian, African, ok all, I like trying new dishes
Favorite place we have livedColoradoGermany
Favorite hobbySnowboardingCycling, hiking, and reading
Favorite seasonsWinter and fallSpring and summer
More About Our Family
Our Special Interests

Shonita enjoys learning the history of different cultures, so she is always watching documentaries or visiting museums and cultural places when we venture to new places whether to temporarily live or on vacation. She also enjoys upcycling furniture and DIY projects. She is getting back into roller skating, an activity she really enjoyed as a child.
Romell has developed a love for grilling every since he "defeated" his brother-in-law in a grill master challenge during a family visit when we lived in Arizona. He is gearing up for a repeat to officially retain control of his title. He is also very driven and enjoys mastering different things. This includes snowboarding, mountain biking, triathlons, and more.
We are both fans of Marvel so you will find us the couple dressed up at opening night as characters for the latest Marvel movie or cuddle up on the couch enjoying Marvel t.v. shows.

Our Musical Interest

We both enjoy old-school R&B and Hip Hop.
Shonita enjoys current R&B and soul while Romell enjoys Latin and country music.

About Our Home

Our home is wherever we are stationed. We are a military family that moves every 2-3 years, regardless we always make it a priority to make that place home. We establish friends who become family and make new traditions. It is important for us to not allow our sense of "home" to become a physically structured building. Ours are the relationships we are able to build and the way we establish ourselves in our community.
We do however own a home in Georgia, it is 4bedrooms and 2.5 baths in the suburbs of Georgia near family and friends.

We Prefer a Child Who Is...
Age of Child

Newborn to 2 years old


Yes, we would love twins!



Sibling Group

We would welcome a sibling group with the oldest up to 2 years old.

In Closing

We would like to thank you for taking the time to learn about us. We promise to love your child fully and will support them in all that they set their mind to. We promise to share with them our love of travel, the outdoors, and culture all while encouraging them to find their own passions. We look forward to speaking with you and keeping in touch through letters, pictures, and visits.

Call or Text us